UGA Unveils 40 Under 40 Class of 2018

Home >

UGA Unveils 40 Under 40 Class of 2018

The University of Georgia Alumni Association has unveiled the 40 Under 40 Class of 2018. This program began in 2011 and celebrates the personal, professional and philanthropic achievements of UGA graduates who are under the age of 40. The honorees will be recognized during the eighth annual 40 Under 40 Awards Luncheon on Sept. 13 at the Georgia Aquarium.

This year’s class includes alumni from a variety of industries ranging from medicine to music. Among the honorees are Hulu’s Emmy Award-winning Producer Chase Cain, Georgia football alumnus Mohamed Massaquoi, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta Complex Care Medical Director Dr. Margaux Charbonnet Murray, Vice President of Mercedes-Benz Stadium Corporate Partnerships Tameka Rish, Director of the National Security Council Latham Saddler, and co-founder of Google’s Area 120 incubator Adrianna Samaniego.

“We look forward to announcing the 40 Under 40 class each year, because this program demonstrates the far and wide reach of our incredible graduates,” said Meredith Gurley Johnson, executive director of alumni relations. “These young alumni are giving back to their communities and reshaping their professions—they deserve to be celebrated.”

Nominations for 40 Under 40 were open from February to April, and more than 550 alumni were nominated for this year’s class. Honorees must have attended UGA and uphold the Pillars of the Arch, which are wisdom, justice and moderation. Additional criteria are available on the UGA Alumni Association website.

“I am amazed by the diversity of our alumni and how engaged they are in their philanthropy, careers and community,” Johnson added. “Our graduates are solving the grand challenges of our time in every corner of the globe, which makes it more difficult every year to narrow the list down to 40 people. They represent us well and we could not be prouder of the positive impact they are making.”

This year’s 40 Under 40 honorees, including their graduation year(s) from UGA, city, title and employer, are:

  • Kristin Bernhard, 2009, Atlanta, deputy commissioner for system reform, Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning
  • Brooke Bowen, 2007 and 2010, Atlanta, legal counsel, Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia
  • Chase Cain, 2005, West Hollywood, California, creative producer, Hulu
  • Matt Coley, 2003 and 2005, Cordele, owner/operator, Coley Gin and Fertilizer/Coley Farms
  • Caitlyn Cooper, 2007, Marietta, partner, GMHC360 and president, Caitlyn Cooper Consulting
  • Matthew Crim, 2005, Athens, general cardiologist, assistant professor of medicine, Piedmont Heart Institute, Augusta University/University of Georgia Medical Partnership
  • Meredith Dean, 2014, Charlotte, North Carolina, founder, The Dean’s List and program coordinator, Ryan Seacrest Studios
  • Joshua Delaney, 2011, Washington, D.C., senior education policy advisor, U.S. Senate, Office of Sen. Elizabeth Warren
  • Ivey Evans, 2006 and 2013, Columbus, social purpose manager, Aflac
  • David Felfoldi, 2001, Brookhaven, chief experience officer, SHERPA Global
  • Cartter Fontaine, 2010 and 2012, Athens, CEO, DT Productions
  • Quanza Griffin, 2001, Decatur, public health analyst, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Betsy Grunch, 2002, Oakwood, medical doctor, The Longstreet Clinic PC
  • Tyler Harper, 2009, Ocilla, owner/operator, Tyler Harper Farms and Georgia state senator for District 7
  • Scott Irvine, 2002, Birmingham, Alabama, associate professor in the department of emergency medicine, University of Alabama-Birmingham
  • Jonathan Jones, 2013, Indianapolis, Indiana, improvement engineer, Corteva Agriscience, Agriculture Division of DowDuPont
  • Chloe Kelley, 2006, New York City, NY, senior vice president, PIMCO
  • William Keyes, 2010 and 2013, Washington, D.C., captain, U.S. Army and prosecutor, Department of Defense
  • William “Billy” Kirkland III, 2009, Washington, D.C., special assistant to the president/deputy director of intergovernmental affairs, The White House
  • Ryan Leveille, 2013, Atlanta, global design manager innovation lab, General Electric
  • Erin Lincoln, 2005, Atlanta, associate director, Tetra Tech Inc.
  • Carrie Settles Livers, 2002, Snellville, “STEMpreneurship” educator, Brookwood High School/Brookwood Aquaponics
  • Mohamed Massaquoi, 2008, Atlanta, owner, Mohamed Massaquoi Inc.
  • Margaux Charbonnet Murray, 2002, Atlanta, medical director, Medically Complex Care Program, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta
  • Muktha Natrajan, 2011, Atlanta, postdoctoral fellow, Emory University
  • John Ozier, 2002, Nashville, Tennessee, vice president of creative, ole Song LLC
  • Lauren Pearson, 2002, Birmingham, Alabama, managing director/partner, HighTower Twickenham
  • Ryan Prior, 2012, Atlanta, cross-platform associate producer, CNN
  • Lucas Puente, 2010, San Francisco, California, lead economist, Thumbtack
  • Tameka Rish, 2003, Atlanta, vice president of corporate partnerships, AMBSE (Atlanta Falcons, Atlanta United, Mercedes-Benz Stadium)
  • Ben Ross, 2008, Statesboro, owner/pharmacist, Forest Heights Pharmacy
  • Latham Saddler, 2005, Washington, D.C., Navy SEAL, U.S. Navy and director of intelligence programs, National Security Council
  • Adrianna Samaniego, 2010, San Francisco, California, co-founder, Area 120, Google Inc.
  • Julie Secrist, 2006, Atlanta, senior project manager, Southeastern Engineering
  • Rhondolyn Smith, 2004, Winterville, clinical pharmacist, Northside Hospital
  • JaBaris D. Swain, 2001, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, fellow, cardiothoracic surgery, division of cardiovascular surgery, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
  • Amy Washington, 2009, Bogart, founder/executive director, Kupendwa Ministries
  • Chip Wile, 2002, Ormond Beach, Florida, president, Daytona International Speedway
  • Michael Williams, 2001 and 2006, Kennesaw, finance director, The Home Depot
  • Stephanie Yarnell, 2006, New Haven, Connecticut, physician, division of law and psychiatry, department of psychiatry, Yale University

The article UGA unveils 40 Under 40 Class of 2018 by Kelundra Smith first appeared in UGA TODAY.

share content