NCAA Okays Calls from Ref-in-the-Box

Home >

NCAA Okays Calls from Ref-in-the-Box


 
 
I can see it now:
 
Georgia/Florida 2016 – fourth quarter – UGA up by 3 with 2 minutes to go – Florida is third and long – Trenton Thompson sacks Florida’s QB – The Red and Black half of EverBank Field erupts – no flags – Florida is in punt formation when the ref stops play…
 
 
You know how my imaginary scenario plays out, right? An invisible ref-in-the-box calls a targeting penalty on UGA giving the gators a first down and a momentum boost. How can that happen when no flags were thrown, you ask?
 
 
[su_quote style=”modern-light” cite=”Dr. Saturday” url=”http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/ncaaf-dr-saturday/ncaa-rules-committee-oks-increased-replay-official-authority-173946605.html”] The NCAA rules committee approved a proposal that would allow replay officials to have the ability to stop the game to assess a targeting foul that was missed on the field. If the replay official deems the play to have occurred without the officials seeing it, the official viewing the replay can buzz down to the field to notify the referee.
 
The targeting foul, a penalty since 2013, has previously only been able to be assessed by officials on the field. If the Playing Rules Oversight Panel passes the proposal in March, it’ll be official in 2016.
[/su_quote]  
 
The Harvey Updykes of the world can only take so much.
 
 
 
 
 
 

share content

Author /

Greg is closing in on 11 years writing about and photographing UGA sports. While often wrong and/or out of focus, it has been a long, strange trip full of fun and new friends.