Jake Fromm and Keturah Orji Named Athletes of the Year

Home >

Jake Fromm and Keturah Orji Named Athletes of the Year

Jake Fromm
Jake Fromm

Jake Fromm (football) claimed the 2019 Vince Dooley Athlete of the Year award, while Keturah Orji (women’s track and field) was named 2019 Liz Murphey Athlete of the Year for the fourth consecutive year on Monday at the annual Student-Athlete Awards Banquet hosted by the UGA Athletic Association at the Tate Student Center.

The Dawgs Choice Awards, supported by The Georgia Way, is put together annually by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

Leading this year’s banquet were student-athlete co-presidents Kayla Smith (women’s track and field) and Jonathan Pelham (men’s track and field/cross country).

Tiffany Yue (women’s track and field) and Blake Atmore (men’s swimming and diving) were recognized as the recipients of the 2019 Joel Eaves Award, an honor given to two rising seniors with the highest grade point averages (GPA).

The UGA Athletic Association Sportsmanship-Ethics Award went to seniors Rodrigo Blankenship (football) and Caroline Ostman (volleyball). Madison Anger of the equestrian team received the Marilyn Vincent Scholar-Athlete award, an honor given to the graduating female senior with the highest GPA.

The 2019 recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Post-Graduate Scholarships were Jackson Harris (football) and Emma Mandarino (equestrian).

Keturah Orji
Keturah Orji

Anna Kate Karstens (volleyball) and Steven Van Tiflin (football) were presented with the Brad Davis SEC Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarships.

The women’s and men’s cross country teams were recognized as the winners of the Faculty Athletics Representative’s Award. The women’s team earned a 3.45 GPA for the 2017-18 academic year, while the men’s team finished with a GPA of 3.32.

Other award winners include: Dick Bestwick Scholar-Athlete Award: Blake Atmore, Men’s Swimming and Diving Clifford Lewis Leadership Award: Anna Kate Karstens, Volleyball Dick Copas Leadership Award: Jonathan Pelham, Track and Field / Cross Country Hornsby Howell Community Service Award: Stephanie Paul, Women’s Basketball Bulldog Cup: Equestrian 2017-18 Scholar-Athlete Award Winners (*Student-athletes from each team who had the highest GPA at the conclusion of the last academic year): Adam Goodman (baseball), Juwan Parker (football), Haley Clark (women’s basketball), Kyndall Harper (equestrian), Prather Hudson (football), Matthew Beringer (men’s golf), Gigi Marino (gymnastics), Caroline Chipman (soccer), Katie Higgins (soccer), Amanda Ablan (softball), Jackson Ford (men’s swimming and diving), Anna McKenzie (women’s swimming and diving), Meaghan Raab (women’s swimming and diving), Jordan Stout (women’s swimming and diving), Samuel Dromsky (men’s tennis), Elena Christofi (women’s tennis), Bryan Kamau (men’s track and cross country), Samantha Drop (women’s track and cross country), Keturah Orji (women’s track and cross country), Tiffany Yue (women’s track and cross country), and Anna Kate Karstens (volleyball). 

For more information about the Georgia Way, follow @TheGeorgiaWay on Twitter and Instagram or visit www.thegeorgiaway.com

share content

Author /

Greg is closing in on 11 years writing about and photographing UGA sports. While often wrong and/or out of focus, it has been a long, strange trip full of fun and new friends.