2015 Student-Athlete Awards Banquet

Home >

2015 Student-Athlete Awards Banquet

Chris Conley
(Photo by Duane Jurma)
[su_spacer size=”20″] The University of Georgia Athletic Association hosted its annual Student-Athletes Awards Banquet on Monday, April 27.
[su_spacer size=”40″] The event was highlighted by swimmers Nic Fink and Maddie Locus announced as Georgia’s nominees for the Boyd McWhorter SEC Postgraduate Scholarship.
[su_spacer size=”40″] Former volleyball player, Georgia alum and current SEC Network and ESPN host and analyst Maria Taylor hosted.
[su_spacer size=”40″] Seniors Chris Conley (football) and Lauren Herring (women’s tennis) were named Georgia’s nominees for the SEC Brad Davis Community Service Postgraduate Scholarships, while seniors Nathan Pasha and Gaby Smiley were named recipients of the UGA Athletic Association Sportsmanship-Ethics Award.
[su_spacer size=”40″] Marcus Thornton was chosen as the Georgia Male Student-Athlete of the Year, while Kendell Williams claimed the Georgia Female Student-Athletes of the Year award.
[su_spacer size=”40″] The equestrian team and the men’s tennis team were recognized as the recipients of the Faculty Athletics Representative’s award, after earning the highest team grade point averages of 3.40 and 3.26, respectively, during the 2013-14 academic year.
[su_spacer size=”40″] Other special award winners included:
[su_spacer size=”10″] Marilyn Vincent Scholar-Athlete Award: Morgan Justiss, Equestrian

Dick Bestwick Scholar-Athlete Award: Derek Onken, Men’s Swimming

Clifford Lewis Leadership Award: Jill Maloney, Women’s Soccer

Dick Copas Leadership Award: Nemanja Djurisic, Men’s Basketball

Hornsby Howell Community Service Award: Malcolm Mitchell, Football
[su_spacer size=”40″] 2013-14 Scholar-Athlete Award Winners:
[su_spacer size=”10″] Baseball  – D.J. Smith
Men’s Basketball – Taylor Echols
Women’s Basketball – Marjorie Butler
Equestrian – Kate Skoglund
Football – Marshall Morgan
Men’s Golf – Jaime Lopez Rivarola
Women’s Golf – Sammi Lee
Gymnastics – Lindsey Cheek
Men’s Swimming – Ty Stewart & Derek Onken
Women’s Swimming – Maddie Locus & Chantal Van Landegham
Men’s Tennis  – Garrett Brasseaux (Brah-so)
Women’s Tennis – Lauren Herring (Hair-ing)
Men’s Track & Cross Country – Kisean Smith
Women’s Track & Cross Country – Rachael Doverspike
Soccer – Liliana Rios
Softball – Tiesha Reed
Volleyball – Gaby Smiley

share content