J.J. Frazier and Keturah Orji Named Male and Female UGA Student-Athlete of the Year

Home >

J.J. Frazier and Keturah Orji Named Male and Female UGA Student-Athlete of the Year

J.J. Frazier (30)
J.J. Frazier (30)

The University of Georgia Athletic Association held their annual Student-Athlete Awards Banquet on Monday, and J.J. Frazier and Keturah Orji were named Male and Female Student-Athlete of the Year

The UGA Student-Athlete of the Year awards are named after former Georgia Head Coach/Athletic Director Vince Dooley and Georgia legend Liz Murphey, who wore several hats during her time at UGA from 1967 to 1996 as a faculty member, Georgia Women’s Golf Head Coach, Assistant Athletic Director of Women’s Sports, and Georgia’s Senior Woman’s Administrator. During her tenure, UGA women’s teams won four national team championships, 31 individual national titles, and 14 SEC women’s all-sports awards.
Earning the Men’s Student-Athlete of the Year was the senior guard for the men’s basketball team, J.J. Frazier.

Claiming the Female Student-Athlete of the Year award was the women’s track and field junior, Keturah Orji. It was the second consecutive year in which Orji has received that honor.

Former Georgia gymnast Courtney Kupets Carter hosted the event. Kupets Carter helped lead the Gymdogs to four NCAA team Championships from 2006-2009, while tallying nine individual NCAA titles throughout her career.
Women’s track and field Senior Morgan Green and men’s track and field graduate Jimmy Hicks were named Georgia’s nominees for the SEC Brad Davis Community Service Postgraduate Scholarships.

Junior tight end of the football team, Jeb Blazevich, and women’s basketball junior Haley Clark were named recipients of the UGA Athletic Association Sportsmanship-Ethics Award.

Men’s basketball player Brandon Young and swimmer Chantal Van Landeghem were recognized for receiving the Boyd McWhorter SEC Postgraduate Scholarship. Van Landeghem also received the Marilyn Vincent Scholar-Athlete award.
The men’s tennis and women’s equestrian teams were recognized as the recipients of the Faculty Athletics Representative’s award, after earning the highest team grade point averages of 3.33 and 3.34, respectively, during the 2015-16 academic year.


Male Student-Athlete of the Year: J.J. Frazier, Men’s Basketball

Female Student-Athlete of the Year: Kenturah Orji, Women’s Track and Field

Dick Bestwick Scholar-Athlete Award: Billy Seward, Football

Clifford Lewis Leadership Award: Mackenzie Engram, Women’s Basketball

Dick Copas Leadership Award: Nick Chubb, Football

Hornsby Howell Community Service Award: Kendall Kazor, Volleyball


Baseball – Austin Wallace

Men’s Basketball – Juwan Parker

Women’s Basketball – Marjorie Butler

Equestrian – Madison Anger

Equestrian – Leyan Gleeson

Equestrian – Allie Harbert

Football – Billy Seward

Men’s Golf – Matthew Beringer

Women’s Golf – Sammi Lee

Gymnastics – Gracie Cherrey

Soccer – Liliana Rios

Soccer – Stephanie Krouskos

Softball – Bekah Farris

Men’s Swimming & Diving – Joshua Kenway

Women’s Swimming & Diving – Annie Zhu

Women’s Swimming & Diving – Rachel Zilinskas

Men’s Tennis – Ben Wagland

Women’s Tennis – Stephanie Grodecki

Men’s Cross Country and Track & Field – Eric Westog

Women’s Cross Country and Track & Field – Morgan Green

Volleyball – Sarah Legler-Clark

share content

Author /

The University of Georgia 1991-1994. Lanier Tech 2009-2012. Writer and graphic artist covering UGA athletics, college football, and recruiting. Peach cobbler fears me!