Aaron Schunk a Semifinalist for the Two-Way Player of the Year Award

Home >

Aaron Schunk a Semifinalist for the Two-Way Player of the Year Award

View the gallery HERE. Fullscreen slideshow is HERE. To see all UGA Baseball 2019 CLICK HERE.

University of Georgia junior Aaron Schunk has been named a semifinalist for the 2019 John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award, the College Baseball Foundation announced Thursday.

A finalist for the Olerud Award in 2018, Schunk leads the seventh-ranked Bulldogs in batting at .339 with nine home runs and 37 RBI plus has a team-high 11 saves to with a 1-2 mark and 2.53 ERA. Georgia is 39-14 overall and 18-9 in the SEC.

The Olerud award is named for the former Washington State University standout who achieved success both as a first baseman and left-handed pitcher during the late 1980s and was inducted into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2007. The award will be presented by the College Baseball Foundation later this summer.





“Every year we’ve done this award, the quality of candidates just seems to get deeper and deeper, and this year is no different,” award chairman George Watson said. “We’ve got dominating starters, shutdown closers and every single one of these guys is putting up great numbers at the plate. Each player is having a tremendous effect on their respective teams’ push for the postseason.”

In related news involving Schunk Thursday, he was named to the SEC Community Service Team for baseball.

Aaron Schunk
Aaron Schunk

Here’s a look at the 10 Olerud Award semifinalists for this season.





Name (School)                  AVG-HR-RBI; W-L, ERA, SV

Ty Adcock (Elon)                .249-10-48;     4-1, 2.63 ERA, 8 SV

Alec Burleson (ECU)          .373-6-45;       5-1, 3.30 ERA, 4 SV

Cade Cavalli (OU)              .319-17-44;     5-2, 2.93 ERA, 0 SV

Tristin English (GT)            .322-15-57;     2-0, 4.66 ERA,  SV

Connor Grammes (Xavier) .327-6-23;       4-5, 4.60 ERA, 0 SV

Will Matthiesen (Stanford)  .327-9-41;       5-2, 4.29 ERA, 1 SV

Max Meyer (Minnesota)      .256-1-12;       4-3, 2.28 ERA, 2 SV

Aaron Schunk (Georgia)  .339-9-37;       1-2, 2.53 ERA, 11 SV

Davis Sharpe (Clemson)    .270-3-18;       6-3, 2.85 ERA 0 SV

Chris Wright (Bryant)          .307-6-48;       1-1, 2.88 ERA, 12 SV

Previous winners of the Olerud Award include Mike McGee (2010-FSU); Danny Hultzen (2011-Virginia), Brian Johnson (2012-Florida), Marco Gonzales (2013-Gonzaga), A.J. Reed (2014-Kentucky), Brendan McKay (2015-17-Louisville) and Brooks Wilson (2018-Stetson).

For more information on the Olerud Award or the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions, visit www.collegebaseballhall.org.

Aaron Schunk
Aaron Schunk





share content

Author /

Greg is closing in on 15 years writing about and photographing UGA sports. While often wrong and/or out of focus, it has been a long, strange trip full of fun and new friends.