Bulldog Quarterback Jacob Eason Named to Davey O’Brien Award Watch List

Home >

Bulldog Quarterback Jacob Eason Named to Davey O’Brien Award Watch List

Jacob Eason scans the field during Georgia's 2017 G-Day spring game
Jacob Eason scans the field during Georgia’s 2017 G-Day spring game

This past week, Georgia Bulldogs’ sophomore Jacob Eason was one of thirty quarterbacks named to the 2017 Davey O’Brien Award watch list.

Along with Eason, five other SEC quarterbacks also are on the Davey O’Brien watch list and include Arkansas’ Austin Allen, South Carolina’s Jake Bentley, Mississippi State’s Nick Fitzgerald, Alabama’s Jalen Hurts, and Ole Miss’ Shea Patterson.
The Davey O’Brien Award is presented each year to the nation’s best college football quarterback and is considered the nation’s oldest and most distinguished national quarterback award. Candidates for the Davey O’Brien Award are selected by a committee comprised of broadcasters, commentators, and journalists along with former Davey O’Brien Award recipients. Each candidate is then evaluated by the Selection Committee on the following criteria: academics, athletic ability, character, leadership, quarterback skills, reputation as a team player, and sportsmanship. A quarterback does not have to be on the watch list in order to become a finalist and win.
Fans are able to also participate in voting for the quarterback they feel best deserves the Davey O’Brien Award, and their vote counts as five percent and is combined with the results from the Selection Committee. If you would like to participate in the voting, you can do so by CLICKING HERE.
On November 7th, the Selection Committee will trim down the candidates to a list of finalists and those names will be released on November 21st. Then on December 7th, he winner will be announced at the annual Home Depot College Football Awards show on ESPN.
Here is the full 2017 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List:
Austin Allen (Arkansas, Sr., Fayetteville, Ark.)

Josh Allen (Wyoming, Jr., Firebaugh, Calif.)

J.T. Barrett (Ohio State, Sr., Wichita Falls, Texas)

Jake Bentley (South Carolina, So., Opelika, Ala.)

Jake Browning (Washington, Jr., Granite Bay, Calif.)

Shane Buechele (Texas, So., Arlington, Texas)

Sam Darnold (USC, So., Capistrano Beach, Calif.)

Eric Dungey (Syracuse, Jr., Lake Oswego, Ore.)

Jacob Eason (Georgia, So., Lake Stevens, Wash.)

Jesse Ertz (Kansas State, Sr., Burlington, Iowa)

Luke Falk (Washington State, Sr., Logan, Utah)

Riley Ferguson (Memphis, Sr., Matthews, N.C.)

Nick Fitzgerald (Mississippi State, Jr., Richmond Hill, Ga.)

Quinton Flowers (USF, Sr., Miami, Fla.)

Deondre Francois (Florida State, So., Orlando, Fla.)

Jalen Hurts (Alabama, So., Houston, Texas)

Lamar Jackson (Louisville, Jr., Pompano Beach, Fla.)

Daniel Jones (Duke, So., Charlotte, N.C.)

Tanner Mangum (BYU, Jr., Eagle, Idaho)

Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma, Sr., Austin, Texas)

Trace McSorley (Penn State, Jr., Ashburn, Va.)

Shea Patterson (Ole Miss, So., Shreveport, La.)

Josh Rosen (UCLA, Jr., Manhattan Beach, Calif.)

Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State, Sr., Rock Hill, S.C.)

Brett Rypien (Boise State, Jr., Spokane, Wash.)

Brandon Silvers (Troy, Sr., Orange Beach, Ala.)

Wilton Speight (Michigan, Jr., Richmond, Va.)

Brent Stockstill (Middle Tennessee, Jr., Murfreesboro, Tenn.)

Mike White (Western Kentucky, Sr., Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)

Logan Woodside (Toledo, Sr., Frankfurt, Ky.)


share content