Georgia Football Team Honored at Annual Gala

Home >

Georgia Football Team Honored at Annual Gala

2017 UGA football seniors edit by Bob Miller


A day after the Bulldogs celebrated the 13th SEC title in program history, seniors Nick Chubb, Sony Michel and Isaiah Wynn along with junior Roquan Smith took home the top awards at the University of Georgia football team’s annual gala on Sunday night at the Classic Center.


The four upperclassmen were named team captains, with Smith, a native of Montezuma, Ga., representing the defensive unit and Chubb, a native of Cedartown, Ga., Michel, a native of Plantation, Fla., and Wynn, a native of St. Petersburg, Ga., representing the offense. The gala came on the heels of the Bulldogs’ whipping second-ranked Auburn 28-7 in the SEC Championship Game on Saturday and the team being put in the College Football Playoff’s semifinal round in the Rose Bowl versus second-ranked Oklahoma on Sunday.


Chubb and Michel garnered the Vince Dooley Offensive Most Valuable Player honors while Smith was named the Vince Dooley Defensive Most Valuable Player. Chubb also received the Leon Farmer Strength and Conditioning Award. From special teams, sophomore receiver Mecole Hardman, native of Bowman, Ga., was named the Vince Dooley Most Valuable Player.


The Charley Trippi Award for most versatile player also went to Michel and senior linebacker Lorenzo Carter of Norcross, Ga. The Frank Sinkwich Award, given to the players who demonstrated the most toughness, went to Wynn and senior defensive back Malkom Parrish of Quitman, Ga.


The David Jacobs Award, given to a player who portrays courage, spirit, character and determination, went to senior linebacker Reggie Carter of Snellville, Ga., and senior tight end Jeb Blazevich of Charlotte, N.C.


The Up Front Awards for play along the line of scrimmage also went to Wynn, junior center Lamont Gaillard of Fayetteville, N.C., graduate nose guard John Atkins of Thomson, Ga., junior defensive end Jonathan Ledbetter of Tucker, Ga., and senior linebacker Davin Bellamy.


Newcomer of the Year Awards went to freshman quarterback Jake Fromm of Warner Robins, Ga., freshman tailback D’Andre Swift of Philadelphia, Pa., freshman tackle Andrew Thomas of Lithonia, Ga., redshirt sophomore defensive back J.R. Reed of Frisco, Texas, graduate punter Cameron Nizialek of Chantilly, Va., redshirt freshman tailback Prather Hudson of Columbus, Ga., and senior fullback Christian Payne of Athens, Ga.


Most Improved Player Award winners included sophomore tight end Charlie Woerner of Tiger, Ga., junior guard Kendall Baker of Atlanta, Ga., sophomore defensive end David Marshall of Thomaston, Ga., senior safety Dominick Sanders of Tucker, Ga., junior linebacker D’Andre Walker of Fairburn, Ga., sophomore defensive lineman Tyler Clark of Americus, Ga., redshirt sophomore place kicker Rodrigo Blankenship of Marietta, Ga., sophomore receiver Tyler Simmons of Powder Springs, Ga., and junior receiver Jayson Stanley of Fairburn, Ga.


Scout Team Player Award winners were senior offensive lineman Thomas Swilley, redshirt sophomore fullback Turner Fortin, freshman quarterback Stetson Bennett from Blackshear, Ga., redshirt freshman receiver Willie Erdman, freshman defensive back Jake Skole from Roswell, Ga., senior linebacker Daniel Harper from Atlanta, Ga., redshirt sophomore defensive back KJ Smith from Perry, Ga., redshirt sophomore defensive lineman Michael Barnett of Dorchester, S.C., sophomore linebacker Jaleel Laguins of Watkinsville, Ga., senior tight end Jordan Davis of Thomson, Ga., senior fullback Jacob Gross and redshirt freshman defensive back Jordon McKinney of Dalton, Ga.


The Community Service Award went to graduate defensive back Aaron Davis of Locust Grove, Ga., and the Senior Scholar Award went to senior snapper John Courson of Athens, Ga., who has a 4.0 in Biology and Psychology with a Neuroscience Emphasis.


Team Captains
Nick Chubb, Sony Michel, Isaiah Wynn, Roquan Smith


Vince Dooley Offensive MVP
Nick Chubb, Sony Michel


Vince Dooley Defensive MVP
Roquan Smith


Vince Dooley Special Teams MVP
Mecole Hardman


Charley Trippi Award
Sony Michel, Lorenzo Carter


Frank Sinkwich Award
Isaiah Wynn, Malkom Parrish


David Jacobs Award
Reggie Carter, Jeb Blazevich


Leon Farmer Strength and Conditioning Award
Nick Chubb


Up Front Award – Offense
Isaiah Wynn, Lamont Gaillard


Up Front Award – Defense
John Atkins, Jonathan Ledbetter, Davin Bellamy


Offensive Newcomer of the Year Award
Jake Fromm, D’Andre Swift, Andrew Thomas


Defensive Newcomer of the Year Award
J.R. Reed


Special Teams Newcomer of the Year Award
Cameron Nizialek, Prather Hudson, Christian Payne


Offensive Most Improved Player Award
Charlie Woerner, Kendall Baker


Defensive Most Improved Player Award
David Marshall, Dominick Sanders, D’Andre Walker, Tyler Clark


Special Teams Most Improved Player Award
Rodrigo Blankenship, Tyler Simmons, Jayson Stanley


Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year
Thomas Swilley, Turner Fortin, Stetson Bennett, Willie Erdman


Defensive Scout Team Player Award
Jake Skole, Daniel Harper, Kirkland Smith, Michael Barnett


Special Teams Scout Team Player Award
Jaleel Laguins, Jordan Davis, Jacob Gross, Jordon McKinney


Community Service Award
Aaron Davis


Senior Scholar Award
John Courson (4.0, Biology and Psychology with a Neuroscience emphasis)





share content