MEN’S TENNIS: Nathan Pasha Named All-SEC, Wayne Montgomery Is SEC Freshman of the Year

Home >

MEN’S TENNIS: Nathan Pasha Named All-SEC, Wayne Montgomery Is SEC Freshman of the Year

Nathan Pasha and Wayne Montgomery during the NCAA second round match against Florida State at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex on Saturday, May 9, 2015 in Athens, Ga.
( Photo by John Kelley )
[su_spacer size=”20″] University of Georgia senior Nathan Pasha and freshman Wayne Montgomery were named Southeast Region award winners, according to an announcement Tuesday by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA). Pasha garnered Southeast Region Senior Player of the Year honors, while Montgomery was named Rookie of the Year.
[su_spacer size=”40″] Pasha, an Atlanta native, earned first team All-SEC honors this season and has a 26-11 singles record. He is second on the team with 12 wins against ranked opponents and boasts a 13-4 mark in dual matches. Pasha won 10 consecutive completed matches earlier this season and has played matches at Nos. 1, 2 and 3 for the Bulldogs. He currently has 220 combined singles and doubles wins in his career, which is tied for seventh most in UGA history since 1986. He is also tied for eighth on the all-time career doubles wins list at UGA with 100.
[su_spacer size=”40″] Montgomery was named SEC Freshman of the Year, and he leads team with 32 singles wins and is second with a combined 50 singles and doubles victories. The Somerset West, South Africa native is 14-3 in dual matches with 12 wins vs. ranked opponents. He is 8-0 at No. 2 singles and also has five wins at No. 1. He led the team with an 18-3 singles record in the fall, and won titles at the Southern Intercollegiate Championships and the Cajun Classic in his first two tournaments as a college player.
[su_spacer size=”40″] No. 31 Pasha and 24th-ranked Montgomery earned bids to the NCAA singles championship, which will begin May 20 in Waco, Texas.
[su_spacer size=”40″] Pasha, Montgomery and the Bulldogs (23-4) will play Texas in the NCAA round of 16 Thursday at 10 a.m. ET.
[su_spacer size=”40″] ITA Southeast Region Award Winners
[su_spacer size=”20″] Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year
C.J. Weber, Florida Gulf Coast University

Assistant Coach of the Year
Nick Crowell, Florida State University

Arthur Ashe, Jr. Sportsmanship & Leadership Award
Benjamin Lock, Florida State University

Senior Player of the Year
Nathan Pasha, University of Georgia

Most Improved Player (Senior) of the Year
Francesc Aulina, University of Central Florida

Player to Watch
Roberto Cid, University of South Florida

Rookie of the Year
Wayne Montgomery, University of Georgia

share content