Sugar Bowl Fast Facts

Home >

Sugar Bowl Fast Facts

Fast Facts Georgia:
One of Georgia’s most memorable postseason victories came over Texas 10-9 in the 1984 Cotton Bowl, with John Lastinger scoring the tying touchdown and Kevin Butler providing the go-ahead PAT.
On the Bulldogs last trip to the Sugar Bowl 11 seasons ago, the Bulldogs downed the previously undefeated Hawaii Rainbows 41-10 in New Orleans to finish 11-2 and No. 2 nationally.
Georgia beat North Carolina 20-10 in the 1947 Sugar Bowl to close out the 1946 SEC championship campaign with a perfect 11-0 record, winning every game by double figures.

One of the greatest victories in Texas football history came in the 2006 Rose Bowl, as Vince Young led the Longhorns to a 41-38 win over USC to clinch the 2005 national championship.
Texas’s great baseball program has the most trips to the College World Series ever, advancing to Omaha an amazing 36 times, winning six national titles and finishing national runner-up six times.
One of the most successful golfers ever, Ben Crenshaw won three straight NCAA championships from 1971-73, including a tie with his Texas teammate Tom Kite for the 1972 crown.





share content

Author /

Murray Poole is a 1965 graduate of the University of Georgia Journalism School. He served as sports editor of The Brunswick News for 40 years and has written for Bulldawg Illustrated the past 16 years. He has covered the Georgia Bulldogs for 53 years.