MGOLF: Davis Thompson Named Finalist For Hogan Award

Home >

MGOLF: Davis Thompson Named Finalist For Hogan Award

David Thompson (Photo: Steve Colquitt)
David Thompson (Photo: Steve Colquitt)

Georgia’s Davis Thompson has been chosen as one of the three finalists for the Ben Hogan Award, according to an announcement Thursday by the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, Friends of Golf, and the Golf Coaches Association of America.

The Hogan Award is presented annually to the nation’s top male golfer taking into account all collegiate, amateur, and professional competitions over the past year.





Joining Thompson, a senior from Auburn, Ala., as finalists are junior Pierceson Coody of Texas and senior John Pak of Florida State.

The finalists will travel to Fort Worth, Texas, to attend a luncheon at Colonial Country Club on Friday, June 4, where the winner will be crowned. The 2021 recipient will earn the first invitation to the PGA Tour’s 2022 Charles Schwab Challenge.

Thompson leads the SEC with a scoring average of 69.75 and has posted a win and four additional top-10 collegiate finishes this year. He is No. 2 in the PGA Tour University Honor Roll, No. 4 in the World Amateur Golf Ranking, and No. 5 in the Scratch Players World Amateur Ranking. Thompson played for victorious Team USA in the Walker Cup and the Palmer Cup. He appeared in the U.S. Open and the RSM Classic, and he advanced to match play in the U.S. Amateur, Western Amateur, and North and South Amateur.





Georgia’s Chris Kirk won the Ben Hogan Award in 2007, while Ryan Hybl and Russell Henley were finalists in 2002 and 2010, respectively. Kirk was the last SEC golfer to earn the award.

Ben Hogan Award winners have combined to accumulate 44 PGA Tour victories and more than $265 million in earnings since 2002.

Thompson and his Georgia teammates will return to action in the NCAA Tallahassee Regional — hosted by Pak and the Seminoles — next Monday through Wednesday.





share content