WOMEN’S TENNIS: Ellen Perez, Elena Christofi, and Kennedy Shaffer Named All-SEC

Home >

WOMEN’S TENNIS: Ellen Perez, Elena Christofi, and Kennedy Shaffer Named All-SEC

Kennedy Shaffer and Elena Christofi - UGA Women's Tennis Team  (Photo by Steven Colquitt/Georgia Sports Communication)
Kennedy Shaffer and Elena Christofi
UGA Women’s Tennis Team
(Photo by Steven Colquitt/Georgia Sports Communication)

The University of Georgia women’s tennis team Ellen Perez, Elena Christofi, and Kennedy Shaffer were named All-SEC after the team finished as the runner-up in the conference in the regular season.

Junior Ellen Perez and Elena Christofi nabbed first-team nods after leading Georgia on the first two singles and doubles courts, respectively. Junior Kennedy Shaffer landed on the Second Team due to her stellar undefeated singles play in conference matches. Christofi shared the Freshman of the Year award with LSU’s Jade Lewis, assuring her a spot on the All-Freshman team as well.
Christofi, a native of Athens, Greece, sports a team-best 28-5 singles mark and her ITA singles ranking of 19th is the fifth highest among freshmen in the nation. Primarily playing on the No. 2 court, Christofi went 16-2 in dual play and had a conference-best 9-2 record for her court. The Bulldogs won 10 doubles points in a row in the SEC season due in large part to the duo of Christofi and Shaffer, who had six-straight clinchers and seven total wins while playing No. 2. The Freshman of the Year award is the fifth in program history and the first since 2012.
Perez, from Shellharbour, Australia, picked up her second consecutive first-team accolade and her fifth All-SEC award as she was named to the All-Freshman Team and Second Team two years ago. After missing the fall with elbow surgery, Perez, ranked No. 20 in ITA singles, went 11-6 in the dual season, all on the first court. Also playing No. 1 in doubles, Perez pairs with senior Caroline Brinson to form the nation’s fourth-ranked doubles tandem. The twosome displays an 8-4 record with six ranked victories, including a top-5 win.
For the third year in a row, Shaffer received a Second-Team All-SEC honor. The Rossford, Ohio product collected the second-most singles wins (22) for Georgia and tied Christofi for the most conference wins (9). She led the conference in singles wins on court No. 3. Shaffer and Christofi, ranked 37th in ITA doubles, were 12-4 on the year and 7-3 in SEC play, which tied for the most wins on court No. 2.
The Bulldogs wait for their potential 31st-straight invitation to the NCAA Tournament. The NCAA Selection Show is slated for Tuesday at 5:30 p.m.


First Team
Erin Routliffe, Alabama
Alizee Michaud, Auburn
Belinda Woolcock, Florida
Ellen Perez, Georgia
Elena Christofi, Georgia
Jasmine Lee, Mississippi State
Rachel Pierson, Texas A&M
Astra Sharma, Vanderbilt
Sydney Campbell, Vanderbilt
Jade Lewis, LSU
Arianne Hartono, Ole Miss
Emily Smith, Vanderbilt
Ingrid Neel, Florida
Josie Kuhlman, Florida
Second Team
Andie Dikosavljevic, Auburn
Aldila Sutjiadi, Kentucky
Joana Vale Costa, LSU
Kourtney Keegan, Florida
Kennedy Shaffer, Georgia
Shannon Hudson, Arkansas
Anna Danilina, Florida
Mia Horvit, South Carolina
Rutuja Bhosale, Texas A&M
Brittany Lindl, Tennessee
Bea Santos, Missouri
Fernanda Contreras, Vanderbilt
Freshman Team
Taylor Russo, Auburn
Ingrid Neel, Florida
Elena Christofi, Georgia
Jade Lewis, LSU
Lisa Marie Rioux, Mississippi State
Mia Horvit, South Carolina
Christina Rosca, Vanderbilt
Player of the Year: Astra Sharma, Vanderbilt

Co-Freshmen of the Year: Elena Christofi, Georgia; Jade Lewis, LSU

Tri-Scholar-Athletes of the Year: Danielle Spielmann, Alabama; Aldila Sutjadi, Kentucky; Georgina Sellyn, Vanderbilt

Coach of the Year: Geoff Macdonald, Vanderbilt

share content