Targeting: How the rule will change for the 2019 season

Home >

Targeting: How the rule will change for the 2019 season

THE HELMET TO THE HEAD BLOW THAT GOT JAMES COOK (6) DISQUALIFIED
Georgia vs. Austin Peay - September 1, 2018 - Quarter Four
THE HELMET TO THE HEAD BLOW THAT GOT JAMES COOK (6) DISQUALIFIED
Georgia vs. Austin Peay – September 1, 2018 – Quarter Four

James Cook would till have been disqualified under the new rule, but NCAA has changed the targeting rule to – hopefully – decide in favor of the player initiating the hit when there is any question about the call. That is, the call must be confirmed. The will be no more “stands” when the call can not be overturned.

Confused? Check out the video below for the full explanation:

share content

Author /

Greg is closing in on 11 years writing about and photographing UGA sports. While often wrong and/or out of focus, it has been a long, strange trip full of fun and new friends.