Football Awards Announced at Gala

Home >

Football Awards Announced at Gala

UGA Logo G


Senior inside linebacker Jake Ganus of Chelsea, Ala., senior tackle John Theus of Jacksonville, Fla., senior split end Malcolm Mitchell of Valdosta, senior outside linebacker Jordan Jenkins of Hamilton, senior snapper Nathan Theus of Jacksonville, Fla., and junior inside linebacker Ryne Rankin of Orlando, Fla., took home the top football awards at the University of Georgia annual team Gala Saturday night at the Classic Center in Athens.


Ganus was named recipient of the Vince Dooley Most Valuable Player Award, and John Theus was named the team’s overall permanent captain for 2015. Mitchell was elected the team’s offensive captain, Ganus and Jenkins were chosen as the defensive captains, while Nathan Theus and Rankin were named the special teams captains. Mitchell was also named winner of the David Jacobs Award as the player who, by example, portrayed courage, spirit, character and determination.


Sophomore tailback Sony Michel of Plantation, Fla., claimed Most Valuable Offensive Player honors while Jenkins and Rankin were named Most Valuable Players for defense and special teams, respectively.


The Leon Farmer Awards for dedication to the strength and conditioning program were presented to sophomore safety Dominick Sanders of Tucker and sophomore tailback Nick Chubb of Cedartown. Outstanding Scout Team Awards went to junior inside linebacker Ridge Underwood of Moultrie, senior tight end Jared Chapple of Alpharetta and junior safety Jonah Guinn of Walnut Grove.


Most Improved Player Awards were presented to sophomore guard Isaiah Wynn of St. Petersburg, Fla., senior defensive tackle James DeLoach of Millen, senior nose Chris Mayes of Griffin, junior flanker Reggie Davis of Tallahassee, Fla., and junior snapper Trent Frix of Calhoun.


Newcomer of the Year Award winners were freshman wide receiver Terry Godwin of Hogansville, sophomore outside linebacker Davin Bellamy of Chamblee, freshman defensive back Rashad Roundtree of Evans, freshman inside linebacker Roquan Smith of Montezuma and junior outside linebacker Chuks Amaechi of Avondale, Ariz.


Coaches Leadership Awards went to John Theus, senior tackle Kolton Houston of Buford, senior defensive tackle Sterling Bailey of Gainesville, Sanders and Nathan Theus.


The Charley Trippi Most Versatile Awards were presented to Michel and junior outside linebacker Leonard Floyd of Eastman, while the Frank Sinkwich Toughness Awards were presented to Ganus and junior offensive lineman Brandon Kublanow. Senior tailback Keith Marshall and sophomore fullback Christian Payne were named Comeback Players of the Year, and senior placekicker Patrick Beless of Atlanta was presented with the Senior Scholar Award.


Vince Dooley Most Valuable Player
Jake Ganus
Overall Permanent Captain
John Theus
Offensive Captain
Malcolm Mitchell
Defensive Captains
Jake Ganus, Jordan Jenkins
Special Teams Captains
Nathan Theus, Ryne Rankin
David Jacobs Award
Malcolm Mitchell
Offensive MVP
Sony Michel
Defensive MVP
Jordan Jenkins
Special Teams MVP
Ryne Rankin
Leon Farmer Awards
Dominick Sanders, Nick Chubb
Outstanding Scout Team Awards
Ridge Underwood, Jared Chapple, Jonah Guinn
Most Improved Players
Isaiah Wynn, James DeLoach, Chris Mayes, Reggie Davis, Trent Frix
Newcomers of the Year
Terry Godwin, Davin Bellamy, Rashad Roundtree, Roquan Smith, Chuks Amaechi
Coaches Leadership Awards
John Theus, Kolton Houston, Sterling Bailey, Dominick Sanders, Nathan Theus
Charley Trippi Most Versatile Award
Sony Michel, Leonard Floyd
Frank Sinkwich Toughness Awards
Brandon Kublanow, Jake Ganus
Comeback Players of the Year
Keith Marshall, Christian Payne
Senior Scholar Award
Patrick Beless

share content

Author /

Greg is closing in on 15 years writing about and photographing UGA sports. While often wrong and/or out of focus, it has been a long, strange trip full of fun and new friends.