Women’s Basketball: Three Dawgs Are All-SEC, Clark Named Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Home >

Women’s Basketball: Three Dawgs Are All-SEC, Clark Named Scholar-Athlete of the Year

 Mackenzie Engram - Georgia vs. Florida – February 25, 2018
Mackenzie Engram – Georgia vs. Florida – February 25, 2018


ATHENS, Ga. — Georgia forwards Mackenzie Engram and Caliya Robinson were each named second-team All-Southeastern Conference, while Que Morrison placed on the All-Freshman squad and Haley Clark earned the league’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award, according to a vote by conference coaches.


“We play in the best league in women’s college basketball,” head coach Joni Taylor said. “To be recognized by other coaches in this conference is a tremendous honor and speaks to what these four ladies have been able to accomplish. I think each of them would tell you they are more concerned with team awards and what we still have left ahead of us. With that said, I am excited for Mackenzie, Caliya, Haley and Que and want to thank them for their leadership this season.” 


In addition to All-SEC honors, Robinson, who leads the league in blocked shots with 88, was tabbed to the SEC’s All-Defensive Team for the second consecutive year. The Marietta, Georgia, native was also named second-team All-SEC in a vote by Associated Press members on Tuesday. In addition to her blocked shots, Robinson ranks 11th in the SEC in steals (49) and fifth in defensive rebounds (167 total, 6.0 per game).


 Haley Clark– Senior Day – Georgia vs. Florida – February 25, 2018
Haley Clark– Senior Day – Georgia vs. Florida – February 25, 2018


Clark’s nod as the 2018 SEC Scholar Athlete of the Year marks the second time in three seasons a Georgia student-athlete has garnered the honor. Marjorie Butler, who is currently in medical school at Vanderbilt University, earned the award in 2016. Clark earned a degree in finance in just three years and is currently pursuing a master’s in financial planning — all while starting 59-straight games over the past two seasons.


For Engram, it marks her second SEC recognition of the 2017-18 campaign. Earlier this year, she was named to the league’s Community Service Team — an honor she has received in each of the past two seasons. Engram enters this week’s SEC Tournament having scored in double figures in six of the last seven games with three double-doubles against conference opponents.


Morrison represents Georgia’s third All-Freshman selection in the past four years, joining Engram and Robinson, who each placed on the All-Freshman team in their rookie seasons. The Riverdale, Georgia, native is currently third on the team in scoring and top-10 among SEC freshmen in both scoring (8.5 ppg) and rebounding (5.0 rpg).


 Que Morrison - Georgia vs. Florida – February 25, 2018
Que Morrison – Georgia vs. Florida – February 25, 2018


The quartet of Lady Bulldogs helped the team earn a second-place finish in the SEC standings this season. With a 24-5 overall record, Georgia opens SEC Tournament play this Friday night in Nashville, Tennessee.


The complete 2018 SEC Women’s Basketball Postseason Awards follow.


First Team All-SEC

Raigyne Louis, LSU

Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State

Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State

Sophie Cunningham, Missouri

A’ja Wilson, South Carolina

Jaime Nared, Tennessee

Mercedes Russell, Tennessee

Chennedy Carter, Texas A&MSecond Team All-SEC

Caliya Robinson, Georgia

Mackenzie Engram, Georgia

Chloe Jackson, LSU

Maci Morris, Kentucky

Morgan William, Mississippi State

Jordan Frericks, Missouri

Tyasha Harris, South Carolina

Khaalia Hillsman, Texas A&M



Unique Thompson, Auburn

Que Morrison, Georgia

Promise Taylor, Ole Miss

Bianca Jackson, South Carolina

Rennia Davis, Tennessee

Evina Westbrook, Tennessee

Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M

Chelsie Hall, Vanderbilt



Daisa Alexander, Auburn

Caliya Robinson, Georgia

Taylor Murray, Kentucky

Raigyne Louis, LSU

A’ja Wilson, South Carolina

Blair Schaefer, Mississippi State

Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State


Coach of the Year: Vic Schaefer, Mississippi State

Player of the Year: A’ja Wilson, South Carolina

Freshman of the Year: Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M

Defensive Players of the Year: Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State & A’ja Wilson, South Carolina

6th Woman of the Year: Anastasia Hayes, Tennessee

Scholar-Athletes of the Year: Blair Schaefer, Mississippi State; Haley Clark, Georgia; Alyssa Rice, Kentucky





share content