SEC Championship Game Fast Facts

Home >

SEC Championship Game Fast Facts

Mecole Hardman (4) and Jeremiah Holloman (9)
Mecole Hardman (4) and Jeremiah Holloman (9)

Bulldogs Fast Facts:
From 1971-1982, either Georgia or Alabama won the SEC title every season, with Bama capturing the crown from 1971-75, 1977-79, the Dogs in 1976 and 1980-82, with the two sharing the ’81 title.
Georgia has faced four different schools in the SEC Championship Game: Arkansas, LSU (1-2 vs. the Tigers), Auburn and now Alabama twice.
Georgia’s Most Valuable Players in the Bulldogs three SEC Championship Game victories have been David Greene in 2002, D.J. Shockley in 2005 and Roquan Smith in 2017.
Crimson Tide Fast Facts:
Alabama has squared off against three different teams in the SEC Championship Game: Florida (4-5 against the Gators), Missouri and now Georgia twice.
The Crimson Tide played in the first three SEC Championship Games, beating Florida in Birmingham in 1992, and then losing to the Gators in 1993 at Legion Field and 1994 in Atlanta.
Alabama and Georgia shared the Southeastern Conference championship in 1966, and finished ranked No. 3 and No. 4, as the Crimson Tide went undefeated and the Bulldogs posted a 10-1 mark.





share content

Author /

Murray Poole is a 1965 graduate of the University of Georgia Journalism School. He served as sports editor of The Brunswick News for 40 years and has written for Bulldawg Illustrated the past 16 years. He has covered the Georgia Bulldogs for 53 years.