MEN’S GOLF: Georgia Finishes Seventh at Southern Intercollegiate Championships

Home >

MEN’S GOLF: Georgia Finishes Seventh at Southern Intercollegiate Championships

Greyson Sigg - UGA men's golf team (Photo by Steven Colquitt / Georgia Sports Communication)
Greyson Sigg
UGA men’s golf team
(Photo by Steven Colquitt / Georgia Sports Communication)

The University of Georgia men’s golf team finished in seventh place at the Southern Intercollegiate Championships Monday at Athens Country Club.

The Bulldogs recorded a two-round total of 4-over 580. After the first round, they were tied with Arkansas and Kennesaw State for third at even-par with a total of 288, and followed that up with a 4-over 292 in the second round. Greyson Sigg, who claimed medalist honors at the event last season, came in second place with a 6-under 138.
“Any time you get to watch all of your guys play,” Georgia head coach Chris Haack said, “you get a chance to evaluate how they play a complete round. Normally, we only see so many shots. It was kind of fun and different. The weather wasn’t great, and it was pretty bad out there, but you had to have the best attitude you could knowing everyone else was doing the same thing.”
Lipscomb claimed the team title at 12-under 564. Medalist honors went to Jake Fendt of Kennesaw State, whose two-round total was 7-under 137.
Sigg led the Bulldogs individually, following up his first-round 70 with a 4-under 68 in the afternoon round. Freshman Trevor Phillips was next with a two-round-total of 2-over 146, which put him in a tie for 25th, while sophomore Tye Waller finished tied for 35th with a 4-over 148. Freshman Will Chandler recorded a 5-over 149, followed by freshman Spencer Ralston, who was 7-over with a two-round total of 151.
Playing as an individual, junior Zach Healy finished tied for 35th at 5-over 148. Other individuals included senior Jaime Lopez Rivarola, who carded a 5-over 149 to put him in a tie for 41st with Chandler, and sophomore Jack Larkin Jr., who tied for 47th with a 7-over 151. Sophomore David Mackey finished with a 9-over 153.
The SICs were the brainchild of Georgia athletic director Herman Stegeman and Athens Country Club founder Lon Dudley in 1934. The first tournament was held in 1935 and ran annually through 1942. It resumed in 1946 and was held through 1965, then was relaunched in 1975 and ran through 1990.
Previous individual medalists include Wake Forest’s Arnold Palmer in 1950, Oklahoma State’s Bob Tway in 1979 and Centenary’s Hal Sutton in 1980. Georgia’s winners include Lester Kelly in 1955, Bob Moser in 1959, Cobby Ware in 1960, Vinny Giles in 1966, Chip Beck in 1976, 1977 and 1978, Paul Claxton in 1989 and Franklin Langham in 1990.
The Bulldogs will return to action Sunday, March 19 through Tuesday, March 21 at the Linger Longer Invitational. The Bulldogs came in second a year ago, with Lee McCoy earning medalist honors.

share content