Georgia Seeking Eighth NCAA Title at the Swimming & Diving Championships

Home >

Georgia Seeking Eighth NCAA Title at the Swimming & Diving Championships

Olivia Smoliga - Georgia women's swimming & dive team (Photo by John Kelley / Georgia Sports Communications)
Olivia Smoliga
Georgia women’s swimming & dive team
(Photo by John Kelley / Georgia Sports Communications)

The Georgia women’s swimming & diving team is seeking its eighth NCAA title at this week’s NCAA Championships. The Bulldogs will place 14 swimmers and two divers in competition starting today and concluding on Saturday at the Indiana University Natatorium in Indianapolis.

The meet will begin this evening at 6 p.m. ET with the 800 freestyle relay finals. Prelims for the remaining days will be at 10 a.m., followed by finals at 6 p.m.
The Lady Bulldogs have won seven NCAA titles, including the 2013, 2014 and 2016 crowns, and have been the national runner-up eight times. In the last 18 seasons, Georgia has been first or second at the NCAAs 15 times.
Georgia will use a lineup of seniors Emily Cameron, Olivia Smoliga, Chantal Van Landeghem and Rachel Zilinskas; juniors Olivia Ball, Chelsea Britt, Megan Kingsley, Stephanie Peters, Meaghan Raab and Kylie Stewart; sophomore Caitlin Casazza; and freshmen McKensi Austin, Veronica Burchill, Meg Finnon, Meryn McCann and Katherine Parker.
“We’re looking forward to competing for another national championship,” Georgia coach Jack Bauerle said. “Our program really enjoys the competition at this level. We’re proud of how relevant we are year in and year out. As a coach, you always want to be in the conversation and we’ve done that. Our young ladies know what it takes to succeed at this meet and I can’t wait to see how we do. We still have plenty of gas left in the tank. They know what a special opportunity it is to contend for a national championship.”
ESPN3 will stream live the championship finals sessions Friday and Saturday. Tape delayed coverage of the championships will be broadcast on ESPNU at 7 p.m. March 28 for the women’s championships and at 5 p.m. April 5 for the men’s championships. All sessions not streamed by ESPN will be shown on
Since the inception of the NCAAs in 1982 for women’s swimming and diving, the Lady Bulldogs have won seven national titles: 1999, 2000, 2001, 2005, 2013, 2014 and 2016. Only Stanford (eight) has more championships, while Texas has matched Georgia with seven.
Georgia boasts four past NCAA champions at this year’s meet. Smoliga claimed the 50 freestyle in 2015 and 2016 and the 100 freestyle in 2016. Stewart and Raab were on last year’s victorious 800 freestyle relay, while Van Landeghem was on the winning 400 freestyle relay in 2013.
All-time, the Lady Bulldogs have accumulated 77 NCAA titles (52 individuals and 25 relays). Georgia has had at least one male or female individual or relay win a NCAA title each year starting with 1995.
CLICK HERE for the NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships meet notes.

share content