Malcolm Mitchell and David Andrews are Super Bowl Champions

Home >

Malcolm Mitchell and David Andrews are Super Bowl Champions

Malcolm Mitchell and David Andrews edit by Bob Miller

Even if it was not such a good weekend for Atlanta Falcons’ fans, it was a good weekend for former Georgia Bulldog football players. Former UGA running back Terrell Davis was selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday, and former UGA center David Andrews and wide receiver Malcolm Mitchell became Super Bowl Champions with the New England Patriots on Sunday.

David Andrews was a standout center while at the University of Georgia, playing in 50 games for the Bulldogs and starting 40 of those from 2011-2014. Despite his performance on the field while at UGA, Andrews went undrafted in the 2015 NFL Draft, but he was picked up by New England as a free agent. Andrews never looked back as he impressed in training camp and made the Patriots’ 53-man roster. When starting center Bryan Stork and reserve offensive lineman Ryan Wendell went down with an injury in week 1 of the 2015 season, Andrews started at center for New England through week 10. He would go on to win the starting job for the 2016 season as well, starting all 16 regular season games for the Patriots and all their playoff games including Sunday’s Super Bowl LI.
Malcolm Mitchell was a receiver for the Bulldogs from 2011-2015, catching over 174 passes for 2,350 yards and 16 touchdowns over his 4-year college career in Athens. After his senior season in 2015, Mitchell entered the 2016 NFL Draft and was selected in the 4th round, 112th overall by the New England Patriots. For his rookie season, Mitchell played in 14 regular season games and started 6 for the Pats where he was targeted 48 times and caught 32 passes for 401 yards and 4 touchdowns. He also played in the AFC Conference Championship game versus the Pittsburgh Steelers and in Super Bowl LI. Mitchell hauled in six receptions for 70 yards in Sunday’s Super Bowl game versus Atlanta.

Mitchell is not only a standout on the football field but also off the Grid Iron as he is an author and founder of Read With Malcolm, an organization dedicated to help children and adults to learn to read and improve their reading skills.
This marks the first AFC Championship and Super Bowl Championship for both David Andrews and Malcolm Mitchell.

share content